International Composition Competition Harelbeke


The International Composition Competition Harelbeke is een wedstrijd die componisten van over de hele wereld stimuleert om de verworvenheden van hedendaagse muziek toe te passen in het repertoire voor harmonieorkest. Uniek is het feit dat deze werken ook live uitgevoerd en opgenomen worden. Tijdens het finaleconcert op zondag 30 juni bracht het Koninklijk Harmonieorkest Vooruit de wereldcreatie van de drie geselecteerde werken van deze zevende editie.


Results of the Final Round

We are very pleased to announce the results of the seventh International Composition Competition Harelbeke 2019:

- First Prize: The Cosmic Picure Book - MARK GRANDISON (Australia)
- Second Prize: L’attimo fulgente - GIROLAMO DERACO (Italy)
- Third Prize: Lifeboat Variations - DAVID AVSHALOMOV (USA)
- Audience Award: GIROLAMO DERACO (Italy)


Laureates for the final round

The organising committee received 100 entrees from 32 different countries: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, China, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Mexico, Norway, the Netherlands, Portugal, Russia, Serbia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, the United States of America and Venezuela.


The following three scores were selected for the final round of the competition (in alphabetical order):






Lifeboat Variations

David Avshalomov



L’attimo fulgente

Girolamo Deraco



The Cosmic Picture Book

Mark Grandison




The jury found the level of participants consistently high, of great professional level and appreciated the wide diversity of styles.  Taking this into account the jury would like to give two honourable mentions (in alphabetical order):






Atem und Atmosphäre

Junsang Bahk


South Korea


James Maunders

The Urban Squid

United Kingdom


The three pieces selected for the final round will be performed by the Royal Symphonic Wind Band Vooruit Harelbeke on June 30th, 2019.  Following this event, the jury will decide the order of the laureates (1st Prize, 2nd Prize and 3rd Prize).  An audience award will also be awarded. 


This was announced by the members of the international jury, Mr. Luc Van Hove (B) (President), Mr. Clark Rundell (UK), Mr. Jan Van der Roost (B), Mr. Wim Henderickx (B), Mr. Luis Serrano Alarcon (ESP).